YEA 2016 Winners

Well done to everybody who participated in the YEA 2016! It was a truly amazing year with all of you carrying out hugely inspiring and important eco-action projects.


This year, over 270 groups from primary and secondary schools across Ireland entered their very innovative and inspiring projects to improve their environment and raise awareness about local and global environmental issues! We were very excited to honour their hard work at the ECO-UNESCO Young Environmentalist Awards Showcase and Ceremony on May 18th in the Mansion House in Dublin. A total of 80 finalist groups were there on the day to showcase their brilliant ideas, which range from creating natural coconut oil deodorants to raising awareness about the environmental impact of denim jeans.


Overall Junior Winner 01 Website

(The Overall Junior Winner 'Planet Pals' with ECO-UNESCO Director Elaine Nevin, UNESCO Representative Melody Boateng and Green Party Deputy Leader Catherine Martin)


After a morning of exploring the various project stands and many educational and interactive zones, the Awards Ceremony honoured the efforts of the country’s greenest teens. The award for Overall Senior Winner went to young people from Presentation Secondary School Tralee for their ‘waste’ project ‘If Your Dog Poops, You Scoop’. The Overall Junior Winner went to the ‘Planet Pals’ group from St. Leo's College for their ‘climate change’ project while there were two winners of the Super Junior category with young people from Ballymote Community Library (Nature Nerdz: "There's Always a Solution For Pollution!") and Carnaross National School (Eco-Eddie and his Bionic Blue Bin).

 Overall Senior Winner 17 Website

(The Overall Senior Winner 'If Your Dog Poogs, You Scoop' with ECO-UNESCO Director Elaine Nevin and UNESCO Representative Melody Boateng)



Project Title


Presentation Secondary School Tralee

If Your Dog Poops, You Scoop

Overall Senior + Senior Waste Category

St. Leo's College

Planet Pals

Overall Junior + Junior Climate Change Category

Ballymote Community Library

Nature Nerdz: "There's Always a Solution For Pollution!"

Overall Super-Junior (Joint)

Carnaross National School

Eco-Eddie and his Bionic Blue Bin

Overall Super-Junior (Joint)

Presentation Secondary School Tralee

Out With Japanese Knotweed

Senior Biodiversity (Joint)

Moate Community College

Development of Bird Habitats for Native and Migrant Birds on Irish Farms

Senior Biodiversity (Joint)

Drumcree College

Habitats for Biodiversity

Junior Biodiversity

Youth for Sustainable Development Programme

The Environmental Impact of Clothes

Senior Climate Change (Joint)

Colaiste Chill Mhantain

Schools For Resilience

Senior Climate Change (Joint)

St. Leo's College

Planet Pals

Junior Climate Change

St. Brendans Community School

Outdoor Retro-Reflective Christmas Decorations

Senior ECO-Art & Design

Teach na nDaoine

Operation Eco Park

Junior ECO-Art & Design Award

YouthReach Carlow

Wooden it Be Nice!

Senior ECO-Community Development Award 

Loreto College

Trees For Life

Junior EC)-Community Development Award (Joint)

Christian Brothers' Secondary School Roscommon

Don't be a Lazy 'Spud' Get Out Of The Raised Beds

Junior ECO-Community Developmnent Award (Joint)

Portlaoise College

Development of an Eco Friendly Plastic

Senior ECO-Enterprise Award

St. Tiernan's Community School

Tales For Tots

Junior ECO-Enterprise Award (Joint)

St. Aloysius Girls Secondary School

Coconut Oil Deodorant

Junior ECO-Enterprise Award (Joint)

Youth for Sustainable Development Programme

Geo Organic

Senior ECO-Health & Wellbeing Award

Rathoath Foroige Youth Club


Junior ECO-Health & Wellbeing Award

St. Mac Dara's Community College

Find a Remedy to Save School Energy

Senior Energy Award (Joint)

Lanesboro Commuity College

Gone Withthe Wind: What is the Impact of Wind Turbines in Our Area

Senior Energy Award (Joint)

Rathdown School

Wheeler Dealers

Junior Transport Award

Presentation Secondary School Tralee

If Your Dog Poops, You Scoop

Senior Waste Award

St. Louis Community School

Stop Food Waste, Reduce Food Miles

Junior Waste Award

St. Angela's College

A Little 'Tap' on the Shoulders

Senior Water Award (Joint)

Youth for Sustainable Development Programme

World Water Day

Senior Water Award (Joint)

Youth For Sustainable Development Programme

Dealing With Denim: A Jeanuine Problem

Senior Local to Global Award

St. Louis Community School

Stop Food Waste, Reduce Food Miles

Junior Local to Global Award

Youth For Sustainable Development Programme

Leap 2 the Future

Special Achievement Grow Award

Shane Kissane

Mercy Secondary School Mounthawk

ECO-Leader Award

St. John Bosco Community College, Kildysart

Christmas Can Can

ECO-Alu Art and Sustainability in Design Award 

St. Colman's National School

Save Every Drop, Be a Water Cop!

People's Choice Award

Moate Community School

Stimulating our Senses in the Dun na Si Amenity Park

Best Action Project Award

Rathdown School

Water You Waiting For

Most Sustainable Award

Lismore Comprehensive School

Beauty and the Beads

Most Passionate Award

Our Lady's Bower

Caonach Cliste

Most Innovative

Scoil Seosamh Naomtha

Exploring the Many Uses of Solar Power

Best Display Award

Mercy Secondary School Mounthawk


Best Awareness Raising

More in this category: « Showcase & Awards Ceremony